My Storify experience so far

I’m experimenting with Storify for the first time, and I have to admit it’s a bit more confusing than I thought it would be. If you don’t know what Storify is, it’s an online curation tool, or website, that allows you to organize information from Twitter, Facebook, Youtube, Flickr and the what not as stories or glimpses in time. You can see an example of it in my post titled, Verify, Verify!!!

My assignment is to create a “Storify” story for Janet’s book. A little background: my professor, Janet Kolodzy, is writing a new textbook on social media and convergence. It’s supposed to be a “how to” manuel of sorts. I’ve been helping her when I can. Here’s a very good example of what Storify can do: http://bit.ly/swXnhe.

For my assignment, I’ve chosen the Syrian protest in Cairo as the topic for my story. My plan is to find tweets that demonstrate how the protest played. In essence, I want a beginning, a middle and an end.

I’m coming across so many tweets, retweets and pictures. But the one question that sits at the front of my mind is: how can I trust any of this?

Sure, I can use the tweets from Al Jazeera or CNN, but wouldn’t it be cool to find the original tweets from people who were on the ground when the protest occurred? Is that even possible? And if so, how do I verify their credibility from my tiny room in Brookline? I know Storify is supposed to help me organize everything, but I kind of feel like I’m searching for a needle in a haystack (cliche, I know).

So to try to navigate my way through twitter-verse and facebook-verse and whatever-verse that exists within this Storify-sphere, I’m reading everything about Storify that I can find. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

