Hello world.

5/24/2011

So here I am finally blogging on WordPress.Yep, now I can delete my Tumblr account. It was just too confusing to post anything and besides I forgot the password the day after I created it.

I only have one post on there. Oh well.

As you can probably tell, I’m not much of a blogger. No, I’m not a blogger at all. I am a journalist in transition. I grew up a newspaper girl.

My parents had the Baton Rouge Morning Advocate delivered every morning when I was growing up. They still do. If they couldn’t afford a subscription, they bought it from the nearest liquor store or the Piggly Wiggly.

They even picked up the USA Today at the Albertson’s Supermarket on Government Street. This is why I’m 27, and I can’t imagine life without newspapers.

I like the smell of the ink on a newspaper’s page. I like the crinkle the Morning Advocate made in my brother’s hands as he rocked back and forth while reading it.

I like the struggle I had folding a broad sheet in half so that I could hold it in my childish hands and searching the inside pages for the continuation of the frontpage jumps.

Yeah, I’m a newspaper girl, but lately I’ve been doing multimedia storytelling.

Pictures, video, slideshows. Isn’t this where the industry is focused now? Journalism, an industry evolving. Into what? The future is unknown.

Me, a newspaper girl in transition. My future unknown. Where do I go from here?

I can’t sound too down about the future of journalism though. The truth is that I have fun with pictures and video and sound.

I’ve discovered a new way to tell stories, and I have to admit broadcasting doesn’t seem so evil anymore.

Well, maybe it does a little, like when anchors who shall not be named read my stories on air word for word (you know who you are).

Anyway, I’m learning about pictures, words and sound at Emerson College in Boston. Yes, I’m a southern girl living in Yankee territory, and I’m a graduate student there.

I’m graduating in December. I don’t know what’s coming after that. Anyway, I produced my first multimedia project in the fall of 2009 for my Writing and Reporting Across the Media Class.

The story is about how the recession impacted the Blue Hills Boys and Girls Club in Dorchester.

One thought on “Hello world.

Leave a Reply

